Political System

Political Order

Georgia is a democratic semi-presidential republic, with the President as the head of state, and Prime Minister as the head of government and head of Cabinet of Ministers. Notably  the ministers of defense and interior subordinated directly to the President.

Autonomous republics

South Ossetia is a self-administrative rule region (also known as the Tskhinvali region). Negotiations were conducted about that issue with the separatist government, supported by  Russia. These negotiations broke down recently after Russia's decision to strengthen its military presence in the region and granting Russian travel passports to its residents. Government of Georgia considers that Russian actions is an attempt to annex South Ossetia.

Georgian government criticizes Russia's role in Abkhazia, which is another breakaway region of Georgia. Abkhazia is an autonomous republic, which acts as a de facto state. This situation resulted in ethnic cleansing against at least 200,000 Georgians during the war of Abkhazia in 1992-1993.

Until now, these two regions are the reason of tension in Georgian – Russian relations.

Georgia enjoys good relations with its direct neighbors Armenia, Azerbaijan and Turkey, and actively participates in regional organizations, such as the Economic Council of the Black Sea and GUAM Organization for Democracy and Economic Development. Georgia also has economic, political and military ties with  the EU and NATO members and other countries.